Environmental Sustainability Council (ESC)

September 6th, 2023 1:30-2:50 Physics Building P122

Minutes

Virtual Link

meet.google.com/ncj-dzwp-uxu

<u>In attendance</u>: Shannon Graham, Isabella Guhl-Erdie (Operations), Paul Romano, Erica Mendes, John DeGood (Computer Science), Enzo Whetton, Jacqueline Foulk, Larry Pearlstein (Engineering), Amanda Radosti (Facilities), Terrell Osei-Kyei, Hanna Stutzman (Student), Bryan Wood, James Pan, Miriam Shakow (Sociology & Anthropology), Kathleen Webber (Journalism & Professional Writing)

Paul Romano welcomed everyone back to the Fall Semester.

- A. Approved Minutes May 3rd, 2023
- B. Discussion of who we are and what we hope to achieve: Co-Chairs Paul Romano and Shannon Graham shared their view that ESC's role within governance is to serve as "champions" of sustainability proposals that people in the TCNJ community bring. ESC should invite initiatives to be adopted as policy and then recommend policy, procedures, programs, and planning. ESC reports to CSPP (parallel to the Steering Committee, which guides the 3 Senates).

Next Steps:

- 1. Ask CSPP Chair, Abby O'Connor, the timeline and exact process for presenting new policies, programs, procedures. Confirm that it is to CSPP, rather than to Steering Committee, that ESC proposals should go.
- 2. Make a 1-page policy/program/procedure Proposal Guide and and what timeframe to expect (e.g., how far in advance send to ESC co-Chairs to get on an agenda, what information to share in the meeting in which they have agenda item, and what, if anything, they should do after the meeting).
- 3. Each ESC member circulate to the TCNJ community so they can know how to propose sustainability ideas to ESC and encourage proposals:
 - TEVUG TCNJ EV User Group
 - Bonner Scholars
 - People for Plants
 - Faculty list-serve
 - Environmental studies Minor students and faculty

- 4. Proposed Themed Meetings and Potential Speakers
- Curriculum (Diane Bates)
- Campus as Lab (Miriam Shakow)
- Landscaping (Katie Kahn)
- Communications (Kathleen Webber)
- Energy (Paul Romano)
- Transportation (Larry Pearlstein). Also Miriam will ask if Tom Brennan, faculty in engineering who works on transit, would be interested in leading/participating
- C. ESC approved the posting of an ad for a student worker to focus on website and social media communications. Longtime ESC attendee and People For Plants member, Hanna Stutzman, indicated she would like to apply.

Next Steps:

- 1. Post the Ad. Finalized job description here
- 2. Communicate with Hanna so she has the opportunity to apply
- 3. ESC member<u>Isabella Guhl-Erdie</u>volunteered to collaborate in ongoing fashion with the soon-to-be hired ESC student worker to improve the TCNJ Sustainability website. Social Media suggestions here
- 4. Isabella coordinate with Susan Scibilia, who has been managing the website?
- D. Energy Romano gave an update on campus solar panels: The new solar arrays over the parking areas have reached 90-% of their generation capacity and are expected to soon reach 100% of their expected capacity once a few lingering common glitches are fixed.
- E. Transportation Update on TCNJ's EV Chargers

TCNJ plans to fund three sites of Electric Vehicle Chargers:

- 1. 12 vehicle charging station at the Administrative Services Building, publicly accessible and for the TCNJ fleet vehicles
- Replace Metzger Garage 10 chargers with a new set that are networked
 A penalty will likely be put in place for vehicle users who do not remove their
 vehicle after a specified period of time or after their charge is completed. This
 will be completed by December.
- 3. Level-3 (fast) chargers. Completed within 2 years (The Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) incentives for vehicle charging networks has created supply-chain backups).

The TCNJ leadership hopes that within 5 years, the vehicle chargers will pay for themselves via user fees. PSE&G grants are the most lucrative of the grant opportunities for chargers but the institution receiving the grant has to purchase the infrastructure (rather than using a company that owns the infrastructure (such as Chargepoint or Flo).

Sharon Blanton's office has also recently carried out a parking study

New Business

A. Environmental Club students, including student Bryan Wood, requested ESC support for asking facilities staff to carry out a pilot program of ecological management of turf grass, with tech support from the organization Rewild Your Campus and AASHE.

They were told to complete a governance proposal to submit to ESC in advance of the next meeting.

Tabled

Funding Proposal Process and Deadlines (Tabled - it was decided to focus on outreach and policy proposals)

Discuss intent and proposed policy.

Develop written policy consistent with meeting minutes for posting to our webpage.

ESC Google Drive Access (Tabled)

Does anyone require access?

Working Group Reporting (tabled)
Communications (Kathleen Webber)
Landscaping (Katie/Miriam)
Transportation Energy

Addendum:

Information that may help ESC solicit and help support sustainability policy proposals from the TCNJ community:

CSPP:

CSPP evaluates proposals for new and revised initiatives and procedures that emanate from college governance, major institutional planning areas, and institutional task forces. The Committee considers these proposals in terms of the college's mission, vision, and values statements, as well as the strategic priorities and goals of the college's strategic plan. For example, when requests for feedback on new proposals emerge from the normal governance process, CSPP takes the initiative to consider the proposals in terms of the College's Mission, Vision, and Values statements, as well as with the strategic priorities and goals of the College's strategic plan in mind. CSPP determines whether to draft and share a formal document that summarizes its evaluation with relevant stakeholders.

CSPP Members 2023-24

- 1. Abby O'Connor, Faculty Senate President
- 2. Craig Hollander, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 3. Yifeng Hu, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. Andy Leynes, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 5. Marcia O'Connell, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 6. Seung Hee Choi, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 7. Jeffrey Osborn, Provost
- 8. Richard Schweigert, Interim Treasurer
- 9. Sean Stallings, Student Affairs VP
- 10. Lisa Angeloni, Cabinet Member
- 11. Colleen Schmidt, President of Staff Senate
- 12. Nino Scarpati, Staff, term expires 2025
- 13. Raj Manimaran, Staff, term expires 2025
- 14. Hiya Dogiparthi, SG designee
- 15. Jared Williams, Executive VP
- 16. Jennifer Prince, Graduate Student

Steering Committee

- 1. Cathy Liebars, Faculty, term expires 2024
- 2. Felicia Steele, Faculty, term expires 2025
- 3. Mindi McMann, Faculty, term expires 2026
- 4. Chanelle Lester, Staff, term expires 2024
- 5. Kay Potucek, Staff, term expires 2026

- 6. Brittany Aydelotte, Staff, term expires 2024
- 7. Dylan Nguyen, Undergraduate Student
- 8. Jackie Anderson, Undergraduate Student
- 9. Vacancy, Undergraduate Student
- 10. Jeffrey Osborn, Provost (ex-officio, without vote)